Michèle Hamers: South-America Travelblog

How to continue travelling @ Cochabamba

Well I am in Cochabamba at the moment. The city isn´t really interesting, lots of shops, students and restaurants, but it doesn´t make my heart go any faster. Though the journey to this city is definetly worth mentioning. I left La Paz at 7.30 and it would take about 7 hours to get to La Paz. Jonothan would pick me up at the bus station. So I was looking forward to that. Everything went well till there suddenly was a major traffic jam.An accident had happened and it took 3 hoursbefore the buscould continue. Well nothing much you can do about that. The funny thing was thatthe Locals where muchless understanding about the delay then me and the Swiss guy I met on the bus.Well the trip continued and we finally left the Altiplano (which is a reallyboring and unattractive part of Bolivia) and got into the mountains. The views where great.Suddenly the bus stopped. They almost runout of fuel and had to find a place totank Diesel. We where in the middel of nowhere withonly some small villages. Finally the found a village which had some diesel.Fillingup the tankwas done in the old way, a hose and funnel. Some people got out of the bus to strech there legs. One old man didn´t realisedthat the tank was filled quickly and the bus took off without him. His friend luckily noticed this and asked the busdriver to stop. I was totally amazed when the other passengers didn´t hadthe faintest notion and they where just shouting VAMOS VAMOS VAMOS (translatedgo, go, go). The poorold mandid geta change to getback into the bus and he got some really nasty looks throwing at him. The Swiss guy and me just laughed. I mean seriously,we already had a delay for 3 hours, who cares aboutanother 10 or 20 minutes. We centrainly didn´t care. The bus driver however felt definetly guilty or something because heincreased the speed. I didn´t really like that because the roads aren´t reallygood and the abyss was quit deep and nearby.But the good news waswe all arrived safely. In the beginning of the evening I checked in the same hostel as my friend Jonothan and we went out for dinnner.

Yesterday we had a full day, we went up to the white Christ statue (which is a copy but alittlebit higher than the statue in Rio, Brazil). The rest of the day it rained. So we watched some movies on his laptop and just chilled out. I had to figure out what to do, going back to La Paz. see Carnaval in Oruro, go to Sucre to start my Spanish lessons or go to Samaipata nearby Santa Cruz). I tried to get a ticket for Sucre today but everything was occupied. I definetly didn´t want to stay another night in Cochabamba so got a ticket for the night bus to Santa Cruz (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Cruz_de_la_Sierra). I will see from there what I will do. Well this was it for now.

Have fun with the Dutch Carnaval!!!

Reacties

Reacties

annie

nog steedsleuk om je te volgen .zit al weer te wachten op de volgende afl. het ga je goed.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!